When Publishing Platform turns Troll


Ghostly Fact File page from The Little Book of Halloween

Ghostly Fact File page from The Little Book of Halloween

Just a brief update on this whole idiotic Ink(stain) business. It’s hard to believe, after unsubscribing from all their “updates”, asking them to delete my profile, telling them to stop bothering me here on WP and unfollowing the blighters on Twitter, I was forced to report them to Google as spam, because the platform kept forcing through email messages.

After a couple of weeks of peace, this week I found yet another email had been forced through. Each time they are using different people’s names to “update” me on stuff going on at their site. Again, I reported the email as spam, unopened and unread, naturally.

Frankly, you have to ask yourself what kind of “business” this is, when people who wish to leave the site are subjected to this nonsense? My “offence” consisted merely of deciding that it was not the right place for my writing. Since when is it a crime to ask a publishing platform to delete your profile and respect your “unsubscribe” wishes?

Instead of wasting my time with a site that doesn’t provide me with any writerly satisfaction (or indeed royalties for my work), I’ve been busy putting together my “Little Book of Halloween”, just about finishing the second (long) short story for it. I have a few more fact files to write up, but all the illustrations are done and I’m just about ready to put everything together to publish on a NICE and PROPER ebook publishing platform where trolls of any kind are weeded out immediately by those who run the site.

I know, it’s rather late in the day to publish a book about Halloween, but I got “side-tracked” by client work and held up by the fact that my illustrator, whose idea this book was in the first place, suddenly got so busy in her day job, I had to do all the illustrations myself. Not that they could rival in any way what Sarah Chipperfield would have conjured up out of her illustrator’s cauldron.

4 thoughts on “When Publishing Platform turns Troll

  1. Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog Maria, I was trying to find a space to write and thank you and found you here as I really am enjoying reading yours! I have just made a comment in reference to my post on Dr Seuss and totally agree with you. I am sorry for the delay getting back to you as I went away this week. I love your article on London as it reminded me a lot of one of my favourite books called London by Peter Akcroyd. Your photos and paintings on here are great and that post was a wonderful introduction as I am in New Zealand and hope to come to the UK one day as I have friends in Brighton and Tunbridge Wells. Warmest wishes to you from here 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliments on my blog and for taking the time to read my London post. I’ve had little time to blog more on London, as currently trying to get a couple of books out before Christmas and New Year. I have hundreds of photographs of London’s wonderful summer-sunshine-and-fun-atmosphere, so hopefully will be able to whet your appetite even more soon with more London blog posts. You’ll love Brighton – I’ve not been to Tunbridge Wells, so can’t comment. Brighton’s about one hour’s train journey from London, so easy to get to.

  2. Some (many?) of these startups have absolutely no concern for their clients’ right to privacy. Their aggressive business model, if indeed their tactics can properly be called a model, will ultimately be their downfall, I think. The current tech bubble is much like the dot-com bubble of the ’90s, in that angel investors are throwing money at just about anyone who knows how to code. When startups can’t keep their customers, the investment money keeping them alive will eventually dry up for good. We, alas, are just guinea pigs in this “grand experiment.” Being harassed unrelentingly is maddening, I know. I’ve had very similar experiences.

    Your Little Book of Halloween sounds delightful. I would love to know when you find a decent writing/publishing platform. I’ve been thinking of publishing e-books of my Up From The Deep essays. Any input you may have to offer would be gratefully accepted!

    Best regards,
    Mark

    • I use Bookrix(dot)com to publish my ebooks, which is a well-established German platform with a UK, US and obviously German side to it. You can publish in different languages, and can publish either for free just on their site (as work in progress or a completed book) or, for completed books only, you can publishing and sell into a large number of outlets, including Amazon Kindle, Kobo, Google Books, Barnes & Noble and so forth. I’m about to try out Draft2Digital, which publishes both ebooks and print books (into Amazon’s Createspace). D2D would publish your ebooks into scribd(dot)com’s shop as well as various other well-known outlets. This whole Inkitt experience, which was supposed to have been a bit of fun, has been so annoying – how pathetic can a company be to pursue a former subscriber like that?

Comments are closed.