Cardiff revisited


xmas turkey and wineI really must apologise for my long, long absence from this site – I have missed blogging and catching up with what everybody else is doing. Now I’m back I can’t wait to get started again…and yes, I still owe everyone another instalment of Merlin fan fiction! Sigh, there are just not enough hours in this writer’s day.

What have I been up to all this time?

Apart from completing a huge amount of client work, landing not one but two jobs with big writing teams in the US and several other clients to boot, I’ve been beavering away at writing my first adult murder mystery, “Mrs Arbuthnot takes a Trip down memory Lane”, the first chapter of which is currently awaiting editor approval for publication on http://www.jukepopserials.com, where I had already published the first 3 chapters of my Giles Gimingham adventure “Sweet Charity“.

It’s a great site that’s gone from strength to strength over the past year and a perfect place for an author like myself to publish the traditional chapter by chapter way…and get paid for it, yay! Mrs Arbuthnot’s plot is set in WWII, 1941, at the Kentish coast and is part 1 of a series of books. Doing the research has been hugely enjoyable, as this is about British people and their every day WWII  experiences; it’s not about politics and certainly not about war-mongering, murdering lunatics from my own country, although naturally Germans receive a few well-deserved curses throughout the book. I’m really exploring how police officers deal with crime during a difficult time when bombs fall all around them; does one sordid murder really matter or should a police officer concentrate on the bigger picture: looters, the black market, deserters and enemy spies?

Rediscovering Cardiff

Writers will know this: we spend so much time in front of the laptop screen inventing worlds of our own, we forget what the real world looks like. One day I opened my eyes, blinked and looked around me, and what I saw horrified me.

I moved out of my horrible mouse and Gunter-infested home and took on an artist studio as my place to work and grow my freelance writing business from. However, the studio proved less than adequate for my needs. I had extended my work activities to include editing fictional books, which is enjoyable but time-and space-consuming. In addition, I decided to build several websites of my own, hoping that over time I’d make a wee bit of money with affiliates. So all in all, I’ve been pretty busy.

One of these websites is all about visiting the Welsh capital on a budget. I’d lived in Cardiff for a number of years and had almost forgotten how much there is to do and see for free or for very little money. So here are a few impressions of what I’ve been up to – a happy-snappy review of what Cardiff has to offer visitors on a budget:

There was the Cardiff Country Fair held at Cardiff Castle…Welsh breadcomplete with 200 varieties of cheese cake …and Welsh organic bread…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAabout 50 or so vintage tractors…and antique stalls…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and then there were the fantastic events at St Fagan’s Castle, located in the open-air Welsh National Museum…

St Fagan's Castleand the great Extreme Sailing event in Cardiff Bay, which is also the home of the Dr Who Exhibition…

Extreme Sailing 2013as well as a very successful Summer Festival held at Roald Dahl Plaza in Cardiff Bay that attracted thousands of families this year:Mermaid QuayOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And just when you think it can’t get any better, you can join boat cruises in the Bay for a fiver or explore the River Taff by river bus, followed by a free guided walk in Bute Park…I know, I know: you all want to visit me now next summer!

I may have to rent a much bigger studio…St Teilo's Church OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7 thoughts on “Cardiff revisited

    • Yep, 200 different wee little cheesecakes for visitors to try. Just the scent of vanilla, strawberry, banana and co made my mouth water. And I haven’t forgotten your book review…as you will have seen from the blog post, I’ve just been swamped with work, moving home, decorating and repairs in the studio and trying to earn a living while building up several new businesses. I know, sob story, but I will get round to your book, never fear:)

      Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive Season and very happy New Year!
      xMaria

    • Thank you! I must catch up with your matrimonial adventures! Am still reading my way through zillions of blog posts from all the people I follow – I feel like a school kid who has played truant for several months, (she grins sheepishly and begs for forgiveness)

      Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive Season and very Happy New Year

Comments are closed.